HOT BUTTAH BISKITS N GRAVY [MUSIC. LOVE. LIFE. DOPENESS]


Where u been all my life……
April 16, 2009, 8:08 pm
Filed under: Dopeness | Tags: , , ,

 

***UPDATE: READ THIS POST IF YOU LIKE, IT’S ALL GOOD, BUT CHECK OUT AFRO PUNK 2009 POST, FOR SOME REASON ALL SEARCHES FOR AFRO PUNK ARE DIRECTED TO THIS POST BUT THE NEWER ONE HAS BETTER VIDS****PEACE

Aight so I ,might be a little late, but I heart Afro Punk. Big time. More than big time. The Afro punk movement embodies the spirit of my youthly rebellion. My disrobing of all the cloaks society forced me to wear. It gives it a voice, and better yet a face. A face, that for once, resembles my own. I’m not one for pity parties, so don’t expect one here, but i’ll just say growing up in North Carolina was no cakewalk. Bigotry and racist ideology exists everywhere, but it was perfected in the south .

I was heavy into the grunge, skate punk ,whateva-u wanna-call it  scene for a hot minute during my early adolescence and teenage years; Nirvana, Korn, Foo Fighters, Green Day, Stone Temple Pilots, Our Lady Peace, Nine Inch Nails, Limp Bizkit, Incubus, The Donnas, Veruca Salt, A Perfect Circle….these was my dawgs. I try not to label  myself ,and as you come to know me you will see that my personal tastes are a  mash up a myriad of influences. The only generalization I can give myself is I like it funky…nuff said. I grew up in Fayetteville, NC , the gateway of the south.  If you know about the south, then you already know we  tend to lag behind our northern and western counterparts when it comes to thinking progressively. Nowadays it’s cool to be black and “different”, but in my neck of the woods black people didn’t just do anything. Growing up I heard the  following  statements like they were actually factual; black people don’t listen to that, black people don’t wear that , black people don’t talk like that, black people don’t skateboard, black people don’t wear blue eye shadow, black people don’t hang out with that many white people, and the list ,unfortunately, goes on. I was picked on mercilessly by peers and told by my parents that I needed to get some more black friends so I could act normally. I was called a race traitor, ostracized from my ethnic group because I did not fit the perception of what a young black girl should be. The shit sucked, and I developed quite an identity crisis from the fall out of being misunderstood and emotionally crucified for something as simple as the music you choose to jam to. But big girls don’t cry, they get even by growing up to be educated and fantabulous. I’m grown enough to know now that despite you’re color or ethnic affiliation, there’s just some things that  move the soul. If you’re true to yourself, you let it move you. I’m grown enough to know that at one time in this country white radio stations wouldn’t play rock n roll. I’m educated enought to know that rock n roll is rooted in the rhythym and blues, black music.  Being a black woman who is proud of her heritage has taken time. Those who sought to break me down in my youth, had me under the false impression that I was the wrong color for my soul. I’m not trying to be elitist in any way, but black people possess a creative, innovative, unique,and wonderfully complex culture. We are no better than any other group of people on GOD’S green earth, but when we do something, we got a flair that’s hard to ignore. We have a style that has permeated the core of mainstream America since the days of the minstrel show. Music has always played a large part in my life; in my home, the church choir, school chorus , birthdays,  funeral’s, cookouts, family get togethers ,whatever, whenever, music was there. Even though I’m a a writer I can’t conjure the exact phrase to express the value of music in my life. For every scene of my earthly journey, there’s a song. Every crush, every love affair, every moment of joy, every moment of sorrow, every party, when i go to sleep, and when i wake up in the morining, a song is there. Black music is all music. Black music is deep, soulful, fast as furious, soft and sweet, electronic, organic, funky, jazzy, classy and country. Black music is turntables, banjos, steel drums,electric guitars and synthesizers. Black music is my music and I love it all. Nothing makes me more proud of my people than when I see us being the creative forces we are, despite what people tell us we’re not supposed to be or do. Afro Punk you make the little girl inside me that was broken feel whole again. You make me want to stand up on a rooftop and shout like i’ve caught the holy ghost. I heart you.

2 Fresh……..

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] dig Afro Punk. Anyone who has read my post Where You Been All My Life, know just how dear and important this movement is to me. I have been an afro-punk all my […]

Pingback by What exactly is the ‘other’ black experience….. « HOT BUTTAH




Leave a Reply

