HOT BUTTAH BISKITS N GRAVY [MUSIC. LOVE. LIFE. DOPENESS]


California Love Pt 2: 4 tha Bay
June 24, 2009, 7:19 pm
Filed under: Dopeness, Life....I wonder... | Tags: , , ,

  

California did not dissapoint. From the quaint suburbs of Antelope, the hills of Oakland and the city lights of San Francisco, it was everything I expected and more than I had hoped for. First off let me just say that as a Carolina girl, I rep hard for our landscape. It used to be a common saying of mine that alot of other states may have more to do but they can’t touch the beauty of Carolina’s flora and fauna. Upon returning from the west side I have to say that my thoughts have changed. If the cities I visited are any indication of what California is like on the whole, then Cali’s got Carolina beat by a long shot. I saw plants I’ve never seen before, big bushy trees with purple flowers, willows, sunburst roses, and plenty sunshine. Most of the time I couldn’t even get my camera out on time because I was too busy staring. Aside from basking in the tropicalness of it all, I was put up on some of the local culture.

My boy is from the bay and he made it a mission to show me around and let me see the city like he know’s it, not how they portray it. Now I know the Bay has a reputation as an epicenter for quality music and I got to experience the artistic and creative offerings of the Bay firsthand. I was there to witness  the birth of the Exposed Expressions Mix Show.  As it was put to me by my homie, this mixshow is just a small taste of what the whole exposed expressions movement encompasses. Reminiscent of BET in it’s heydey, the mixshow brings the viewer hip hop at it’s finest,  in it’s element. Not only do you get put on to some artists you may not have heard before, you get to experience the music,  peep live  performances, and get to know the artists through interviews. One of the key elements that makes hip hop such a valuable force in the community, in our culture, is the diffusion of knowledge from the artist to the listener. One of the most refreshing things about watching the show was the jewels some of the artists dropped on unssuspecting ears. These days it seems as far as mainstream music is concerned stupidity, foolishness and trends equals dollar signs. Things progress as they should, it’s only natural, but one should never forget the origins of a thing.  This music that we love, rap, hiphop at it’s core was about keeping it real. Bringing the truth to the public whether it be sexual, political, racial, or economical, whether it be from a brownstone in brooklyn, the projects in Los Angeles, a traphouse in Louisiana or a suburb in Texas. From what I was able to see,  the Exposed Expressions movement aims to inject a much needed dose of realness and creativity back into the main artery and you can’t help but love that.

Check out more vids on EXPOSEDEXPRESSIONS youtube channel, and hit up myspace.com/thexposedexpressionsshow

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Taeh,

Gurl you somethin’ else out there. I love this article A+ on my list. you are writting like a writer I am looking for keep up the good work. The Bay Area is the birth of Hollywood. Preach! DO you know who created Hollywood? Do you know where he/she is from? I’ll give you a hint “Welcome to the Bay” Bay Area stand up your gurl Taeh is doing her thang for us out there in Carolina ya’ll. Yeah I stayed in Greensboro for a minute so I know what’s up shout out to Ben L. Smith and all the athletes coming up. Yo! all you up coming artists this is D.I. Cameraman Extraordinaire here to tell you freedom has came at last don’t let your freedom past.. We out here for you.. So support your movement not mines choose to network the education is up to you. Taeh gurl you off tha hook I enjoyed the visit and We here ma.. Goodtimes California Love and California Trees, Yadada!

Comment by Dead I Kahootah D.I.

Thanks!!! Anytime bruh, you know what it is real recognizes real, all day!!!!

Comment by taeh




Leave a Reply

