HOT BUTTAH BISKITS N GRAVY [MUSIC. LOVE. LIFE. DOPENESS]


That’s Amore……..

This weekend I will get to take part in one of the most intricate public displays of affection ever created…the wedding ceremony. My Aunt Katherine is jumping the broom with the love of her life and I couldn’t be more excited.

Aunt Kathy was the stuff of legend growing up. To me she was the pinnacle of what I wanted to be when I was an adult; stylish, effortlessly beautiful, spunky, popular and smart. I remember one particular visit, in which she returned home  with a boyfriend that vaguely resembled Dr.Dre, who took me zooming around the neighborhood on his Kawasaki. She showed me my first tattoo, which was a small rose on her upper chest, a revelation that lead to a very eye opening conversation. Upon explaining that her tattoo was located on her breastplate, I asked if her boyfriend saw her tattoo and she said yes so I then proceeded to ask her why she would show him her breastplate. My mother had to interject to make sure we didn’t proceed any further but that was my Aunt Kat, the coolest. The Aunt that was youthful enough to hold a conversation with you that made you feel like you weren’t just some stupid kid, but still maintained that sage like quality that allowed her to disperse wisdom that induced age appropriate blossoming. 

As time has moved on she has become a sucessful career woman working toward her Phd, a caring mother, and she even does a little modeling on the side. She conquered the world on her own terms and now she’s found the man of her dreams to start that new chapter with. In a world where everybody from Morgan Freeman to John and Kate Gosselin seem to channeling Pat Bennatar’s ” Love is a Battlefield”, it’s real cool to hear somebody singing a different tune………….

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

