HOT BUTTAH BISKITS N GRAVY [MUSIC. LOVE. LIFE. DOPENESS]


desire. raw. needs.

What happens to a dream deferred?
Does it dry up
like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore—
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over—
like a syrupy sweet?

Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load.

Or does it explode?

 

Langston has been in my head for a minute now. I’ve found myself meditating on that question, “What happens to a dream deferred?” I’ve been so  uninspired lately, that shit ain’t even funny. I went to write a poem tonight and nothing came out. NOTHING. Even tried to get some stream of consciousness type shit poppin off but it didn’t even flow right. I’m just………..blank. It’s worse than losing somebody you love, or maybe just the same. For an artist stagnation is death…….it’s like a hunger you can’t fill….stomach growling like you living on the street begging for nickels and sleeping on cardboard boxes. I am so desperate for something to stir inside me….but it’s a thing that can’t be forced, can’t be coerced. It’s been so long since I’ve felt the heat of spontaneous creation……I need that in my life somthing awful right now…….

True indeed.......

True indeed.......

 

Whenever I’m in a funky blue mood, Ms. Badu’s voice uplifts everytime….

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Langston was the first poem I ever remebered and had to recite it in front of the Elementray school in OKALAND whaen i was about 9. I is the most important poem in my life. it give me inspiration to do great things. because some one is always trying to exploed your dreams. And Naw… remeber the ones you love never go away just see you later…

Comment by OAKLAND Cali

yeah….it’s such a simple poem but it means so much…like i really feel like a lot of the dreams i had for myself has just been deferred and I wonder sometimes if they’re gone, but like you said, I guess they never truly go away

Comment by taeh

GIRL I can read that poem A 100000 time. That REALLY is my shyt. PS thanx 4 all the great things too happen… BELIEVE I DO!!!!!!!!

Comment by OAKLAND Cali




Leave a Reply

