HOT BUTTAH BISKITS N GRAVY [MUSIC. LOVE. LIFE. DOPENESS]


Where was Oprah at?

The video for Michael Jackson’s Liberian Girl is one of the most randomly star studded things I’ve ever seen. I couldn’t tell if I was watching a music video or a two hour special episode of Matlock. Video aside it is one of my favorite instrumentals thanks to Quincy Jones and his genius. On another note, every time I hear this song I tend to think fleetingly of Oprah Winfrey who found out on the PBS special African American Lives that she is descended from the Kpelle tribe of  central Liberia.  As I watched I was looking for her thinking to myself  how are you going to have a video for a song about a Liberian girl, with no Liberian girls? Malcolm Jamal Warner, Jasmine Guy, Blair Underwood….where was you at Op?  Technically she wouldn’t have known she was Liberian back in 87 anyway but it would’ve worked itself out in the end. Yall remember the MC Lyte joint that sampled this on the Sunset Park soundtrack? I think one of the reasons I most love hip hop is because it connects us to the musical legacies of generations that have passed yet it is entirely unique and progressive in it’s interpretation of them. Watch…….

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

